In Contemplation of Public Life, Part Deux


My heart began to palpitate as I looked at the schedule of the incoming Council for October and November. From the "getting to know each other" sessions to learning about governance to budget planning, a tremendous amount of time is required.

I was the emcee at the induction ceremony three years ago, when this current council began their legislative journey. I commented at the time that serving was not about fame and fortune, rather challenge and sacrifice. They don't call it "public service" for nothing. It requires an unparalleled dedication, work ethic, and drive to make our community better.

Here is the schedule for the first 34 days:

Wed., Oct. 20 Council-Elect Meet and Greet / Overview of Organizational Matters 5:00 - 8:00 p.m.
Thur., Oct 21 Pre-Organizational Meeting 5:00 - 8:00 p.m.
Mon., Oct. 25 Swearing-In Ceremony and Official Photos 6:00 - 9:00 p.m.
Tue., Oct. 26 Organizational Meeting 4:30 - 8:00 p.m.
Fri., Oct. 29 Council Team Building 5:00 - 9:00 p.m.
Sat., Oct. 30 Council Team Building 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Wed., Nov. 3 Introduction to Municipal Governance 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Thur., Nov. 4 Introduction to Municipal Governance 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Fri., Nov. 5 Organizational Orientation 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sat., Nov. 6 Organizational Orientation 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Tue., Nov. 9 Council Meeting 4:30 - 10:30 p.m.
Tue., Nov. 16 Administrative Briefing 4:30 - 10:30 p.m.
Thur., Nov. 18 Budget Meeting 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Fri., Nov. 19 Budget Meeting 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sat., Nov. 20 Budget Meeting 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Tue., Nov. 23 Council Meeting 4:30 p.m. - 10:30 p.m.

At some point this fall, Dylan will be going into the Stollery hospital for major leg surgery, likely the 7th or 21st of September. By the time this stretch of meetings comes up, he'll be in the Glenrose Rehabilitation Hospital recovering and doing loads of physio, likely a resident there for almost four months. So, my inability to focus on him is nagging at me.

It is interesting what goes through your head when you contemplate a major change like being elected to Council, how it could change your daily life and the logistics of raising a family.

"I'm thinking we may need to buy a second car," I suggested to Heather last night. (we went to being a one car family about four years ago and just haven't looked back)

"Oh no, I won't need the car, it'll be fine," she said.

Meanwhile, my mind is racing through the geographically divergent appointments that would undoubtedly become normal if I were successful in the impending election.

"This time commitment is going to impact you enough," I said. "I won't be able to concentrate knowing that I'm impacting your ability to get up and go places."

The planning, the talking, the learning, continue behind the scenes, as I wait to potentially announce my candidacy some time this summer.

July 16, 2010 - 194.6 pounds, 29.2% body fat

Popular Posts